top of page

Understanding your Crown Chakra! How to awaken and connect with your Sahasrara energy ✨

Yoga for Chakras series 7 - Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra

Location – Located at the top of the head

Association – Brain, central nervous system (CNS), and the pineal gland

Colour – Violet

Element – Thought

Meaning – Spiritual connection to the higher self

Crystals – Amethyst, Clear Quartz, and Selenite

The crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara, is the seventh and highest chakra in the body according to Hindu and Yogic traditions. It is associated with the colour violet and located at the top of the head, often represented by a lotus flower with 1,000 petals.

Said to be the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to the divine, when open, it is believed to bring about feelings of inner peace, clarity, and universal consciousness. On the physical level, it is associated with the brain, central nervous system, and the pineal gland.

When blocked or out of alignment feelings of disconnection, confusion, and a lack of purpose can arise. Physically this can manifest through headaches, imbalance, or poor coordination.

Meditation to open your Crown Chakra

To help quiet the mind and promote feelings of inner peace, meditation can be a very useful tool to help open and balance the Sahasrara. Why not try our crown chakra meditation kit to support your meditation practice?

Sit in a comfortable position, with the crown of the head drawn up towards the sky. Place your hands palms up in your lap, with the right on top of the left, thumbs touching. This Dhyana mudra is known to help bring tranquillity and inner peace.

Once comfortable, gently close your eyes. Imagine a light shining through the top (crown) of your head shining down from the sky. Visualize this bright light starting to flow down into you and then allow it to flood throughout the whole body. Allow the light to intensify and feel its warmth. Be at one with the light. Keep your breathing comfortable and steady.

After several minutes of embracing the light, start to bring your awareness back into your body and slowly bring yourself back to full consciousness.

Crystals for the Crown Chakra

Crystals can be a powerful tool for balancing the crown chakra, as they contain energetic vibrations that can help to promote spiritual connection and inner peace.

Some of the best crystals for the crown chakra include Amethyst, Clear Quartz, and Selenite.

Amethyst is a deeply calming crystal that can help to soothe the mind and promote feelings of spiritual connection.

Clear Quartz is a powerful crystal that can help to amplify energy and promote clarity of thought.

Selenite is a soft, soothing crystal that can help to calm the mind and tune into your higher frequency.

Yoga Poses for the Crown Chakra

Yoga is a powerful tool for balancing and opening the crown chakra, as it encourages us to quiet our minds and focus on the present moment. This helps to release any pent-up tension and promotes a deep sense of inner peace.

Inverted yoga poses are especially effective for balancing the crown chakra. These poses help to increase blood flow to the head and stimulate the pineal gland. They also encourage us to face our fears and embrace change, as we are upside down and outside of our comfort zones.

Sirsasana (Headstand)

Start in a kneeling position with your forearms on the floor and your elbows just shorter than shoulder-width apart. Then interlock your fingers to form a base for your head.

Still kneeling, place the crown of your head on the floor, keeping your neck long. Carefully begin to lift your knees off the floor, keeping your legs together and straight. Once settled slowly bring your feet towards your head, keeping your balance on your head and forearms.

Once you are balanced, engage your core and straighten your legs towards the ceiling. Keeping your abdominal muscles engaged will help maintain balance in the pose.

Stay in the pose for several breaths as long as it remains comfortable, breathing deeply. To exit the pose, slowly bend your knees and lower your legs to the floor, then release your hands.

Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand)

Start lying down on your back, shoulders away from the ears, arms by your sides with palms down. You can choose to use blankets to support the shoulders and upper back. Bend in the knees then lift one then both legs into the air, lifting the hips and catching the lower back with the hands.

Reach up with the feet and walk the hands further along the back to help with stability to the pose. Lean your hips forward and feet behind you to help draw yourself into alignment.

It is important to keep the head still and not move the head or neck whilst in this pose, as it can cause injury.

Stay here for around ten breaths and then slowly roll back down out of the pose, taking your feet behind your head to act as a counterweight.

Vrikshasana (Tree Pose)

From standing, bring the weight into the left (standing) leg, find your Drishti or focused gaze, and slowly start to peel the right foot up off the floor, coming to the tiptoes. Open the right leg out and bring the sole of the foot to the inside of the standing leg.

Pick the foot up and place the sole on the inner thigh of the left leg. Draw the right knee back to square off the hips and press the left leg down. Reach the arms up and overhead, sparking through the fingertips.

Hold here for several breaths before slowly releasing down. Repeat on the other side.

Shavasana (Corpse Pose)

Bring yourself to the ground and lie down on your back. Make sure your shoulders are away from the ears and arms long either side of the body with the palms facing upwards. If it’s comfortable to do so, take the legs out along the floor with the feet wide apart (towards the corners of your mat if using one).

Once you’re settled gently close your eyes and allow your breathing to settle into a comfortable rhythm. Practice this pose to help calm the mind and release any pent-up tension, promoting a deep sense of inner peace and spiritual connection.

We hope that you have enjoyed our Yoga Chakra Series, if you look on the blog it covers other chakras. Please like and share, so others can benefit 🙏🏼✨

Have a beautiful blessed day and remember to Always Believe in Miracles ✨

Sending love and light always

Natasha xx

9 views0 comments


bottom of page